Just played a few sessions against some HU regs. One is a guy that so rarely bluffed. He 3bet 8% of the time, even with me opening 100% of buttons. Of course it is highly profitable to do so since he was only playing 25% of hands from big blind, and it made it even more so since he was hardly ever c/r bluffing when calling making my life pretty simple. What is really bizarre about this guy is I know that he is up a shit ton from online poker from HU, but he really has little idea of what he is doing.
At first he was c/raising boards like 943 w/ a flush draw. Basically boards that all the made hands he can have are a9, 99, 44, 33, and 43. So I 3bet him 3 times as a bluff and he 4bet shoved everytime with 100bbs. Of course it would be better if there weren't a flush draw, but I figured that his bluffing range was wide enough to justify it.
He would also c/c T8 on Q93 boards without any plan of bluffing later. I did quit him because it was kind of boring and The Shield just started. Me having fun watching like a Top 3 favorite show of all-time of mine certainly outweighs making marginal folds.
About two hours later I played another reg who's location was from Sweden. This dude was the absolute opposite of the other reg. I had some stats on him at the beginning that he was 38/30 so I was raising 100% of buttons like I usually do. About 5 minutes in though he was 3betting litterally 50% of his hands. I was folding for a while (to his 3bets and just on the button), then I started 4betting him pretty wide. Usually, people stop 3betting you after you start to do that, but that did not stop him. In fact, he started to do it more. And not only that, but he was folding maybe 5% of the time that he 3bet me OOP.
So how do I combat this? Well, I just 4bet the fuck out of him and then bet like 1/3 pot on the flop since he wouldn't pure c/r bluff, but if he hit a gutshot or better he would stick the rest of his 100 big blind stacks in. I guess I could also have called him in position and bluff raised, but there was one thing stopping me from doing that. He wasn't 5bet bluffing preflop for me to stop 4betting him so wide. He'd 3bet, I'd 4bet, and he'd call. One time he finally did 5bet and he had AKs and he ran into my KK. Certainly a huge huge cooler under any circumstance but moreso with the way this match was going.
Also, I will admit that I really struggle in bluff raising or floating in 3bet pots against aggressive players. Something that I will have to work on.
Overall, I won 2k for the day, but only played 1500 hands. I quit both of my opponents, which other people would probably question why since I do think I have a significant edge over. Well, I have figured out that point is not really as important as just overall enjoying life more and living a somewhat stress free life. As I pointed out earlier, The Shield will always trump poker. And for the 2nd opponent it was just me being uncomfortable with the shitload of adrenaline flowing through me.
That seems to be a problem that I have developed recently. I have been a pro for 3 years now, but never really had big problems with my heart rate increasing unless I went on tilt. And even the tilting sessions stopped after I started playing 2/4 NL+, until the start of this year and now the tilt is even bigger than it ever was. I think the major problem with it all is that I am getting to the point that burnout is a major issue and just dislike poker a lot now. Like it is so stupid to get upset over losing a few 90/10 situations since IT WILL HAPPEN, but I do anyway. So fucking stupid. I have now vowed to stopped playing once I feel that adrenaline or any sight of tilt is coming into me, regardless of how big of an edge I have. Even if my C game could beat a bad player's A game, I believe that this will help me long term to just stop tilting altogether.
Anyway, I hope that wasn't too rambly, and tomorrow I'll load up some hands from yesterday, especially about the psycho Swede.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment